The 16 Congressmen Who Signed That Letter To Obama About LEGAL Immigration
Print Friendly and PDF

On Monday I mentioned a Neil Munro story about 16 Republican lawmakers who had sent a letter to President Obama about legal immigration and jobs. Here is part of the text of the letter:

According to research from Harvard Professor Dr. George Borjas, low-skilled immigration has, between the years 1980 and 2000, resulted in nearly an 8% wage reduction for US-born workers without a high school degree.  Rapidly expanding unskilled immigration – at time when factory work and blue collar jobs are disappearing – would represent the final economic blow for millions of workers who have been struggling to gain an economic foothold.

Yet, despite this jobs crisis for American workers, the White House continues to advocate that CEOs and business executives seek lower cost labor.  The White House has entertained a parade of high-powered business executives to discuss immigration policy, all while shutting out the concerns of everyday wage-earners who overwhelmingly oppose these measures.  You even released an economic report saying that the “hospitality and leisure industry” needs “legislation that would legalize workers in the U.S. and facilitate the lawful employment of future foreign-born workers.”

Is it the position of the White House that the hotel industry cannot be asked to find employees from among the legions of unemployed residing here today?

As Byron York notes in the Washington Examiner, many of the CEOs asking for new workers have been laying off thousands of their own workers.

The PDF can be viewed here:House GOP Members' Immigration Letter to Obama — January 2014.

Here are the names of the people who signed it:

  1. Mo Brooks of Alabama
  2. Lou Barletta of Pennsylvania
  3. Kerry Bentivolio of Michigan
  4. Tom Cotton of Arkansas
  5. Walter Jones of North Carolina
  6. Phil Gingrey of Georgia
  7. Michele Bachmann of Minnesota
  8. John Fleming of Louisiana
  9. Steve King of Iowa
  10. Ted Yoho of Florida
  11. Joe Wilson of South Carolina
  12. Steve Stockman of Texas
  13. Lamar Smith also of Texas
  14. Steven Palazzo of Mississippi
  15. Mike Rogers of Alabama
  16. Jeff Duncan of South Carolina.
Print Friendly and PDF