Hate Crimes Bill Passes—Five Republicans Voted For It
Print Friendly and PDF

The Hate Crime Bill has passed—five Republicans voted for it. According to The Hill,

Five Republican senators joined Democrats in supporting the bill: Sens. Susan Collins (Maine), Richard Lugar (Ind.), Lisa Murkowski (Alaska), Olympia Snowe (Maine) and George Voinovich (Ohio).

I checked to see if these were the same Republicans who voted that Bill Clinton was not guilty of perjury or obstruction of justice, and two them were—Collins and Snowe. Jim Jeffords and Arlen Specter were also Republicans who voted to acquit Clinton, but they're not Republicans anymore, and Specter voted—with every single Democrat in the Senate—for passage of the hate crimes bill.

Print Friendly and PDF